Partners

WORD OF DG MARE

 

 

The European Union (EU) is leading efforts to promote maritime spatial planning, not only in waters under the jurisdiction of its Member States, but also at global level. In this endeavour, Outermost Regions will play a very special role as outpost and vanguard in the world for EU’s policies, in this case of maritime policy and ocean governance.

 

Ocean Metiss demonstrates that synergies can be created between EU internal policy instruments, such as the European Maritime and Fisheries Fund, and initiatives to better integrate the EU’s Outermost Regions in their regional neighborhoods, here in the framework of the creation of a sustainable, integrated, long-term strategy for the South West Indian Ocean (SWIO) Basin.

 

The Commission will support all efforts by project partners to succeed in this undertaking. As Director in charge of Maritime Affairs I am looking forward to the outcomes of this project, as it will show how cooperation among countries, EU and non-EU, sharing a large sea area, is a key factor to implement maritime spatial planning in a sea basin context.

Bernhard Friess

DG MARE, European Commission

WORD OF THE UNIVERSITY OF REUNION ISLAND

 

The blue economy opens up new outlooks for development in the Indian ocean and in particular for the island of Reunion Island. These prospects include, among others, tourism, fishing and renewable energy sectors. With the growing competition with other major powers (the United States, China and India) developing interest in this maritime region, Reunion has every advantage in developing a “smart strategy” for maritime development.

 

The OCEAN METISS project was conceived to meet this strategic challenge of blue growth in an outermost region of Europe, with the support of the European Union and in partnership with neighboring countries members of the Indian Ocean Commission. The OCEAN METISS consortium attests to mobilization at all strategic levels by involving the State services, the Regional Council of Reunion and the University of Reunion Island.

 

OCEAN METISS aims at developing an ambitious marine strategic plan for Reunion Island and will contribute to transparent coastal and sea management based on three pillars: knowledge for society, sustainability and equity. The University of La Réunion is mobilizing an interdisciplinary team of scientists for the OCEAN METISS project and will contribute to training in professions in the field of the blue economy.

Frédéric MIRANVILLE,

President of the University of Reunion Island

WORD OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE REGIONAL COUNCIL OF REUNION ISLAND

 

French and European territory of the Indian Ocean, the influence of Reunion incontestably passes by the assertion of its maritime opening and the valorization of the activities linked to the blue economy, as sustainable fishing, ecotourism, production of renewable blue energies or green maritime transport.

A vast field of action is taking shape before us. But we must also reflect together on the actions and programs that will enable our island and the Indian Ocean Commission countries to take better advantage of the tremendous opportunities for sustainable management of their ocean.

Because the dynamics of our island, supported and encouraged by the European Union, is now part of a global and shared strategy: I also particularly welcome the mobilization of all our partners, the French State, the University of Reunion and the Indian Ocean Commission.

The stakes are considerable, at the same time economic, social and environmental.

By placing the blue economy at the heart of its development strategy, by choosing to organize it as a real collective project, by focusing on collective intelligence, Reunion Island has chosen the future and sustainable development.

Didier ROBERT

President of the Régional Council of Reunion Island

WORD OF THE PREFECT OF REUNION ISLAND

 

The issues of the maritime basin southwest of the Indian Ocean are multiple for France, whether to ensure our sovereignty, the development of our economic interests in an exclusive economic zone of 2.8 million km square or the protection of the environment. The implementation of an integrated maritime policy, embedded in the IOC regional environment, is now a necessity. The Ultramarine Basin Marine Council is working on the establishment of a strategy for the sustainable development of the basin, a local declination of the national strategy for the sea and the coast. The complementarities are evident with the marine spatial planning project Ocean Metiss, whose partnership dimension is a guarantee of success. The State and its services are fully mobilized for the success of this unifying and promising project in the field of the blue economy.

 

Amaury de Saint-Quentin,

Prefect of Reunion Island,

Government Delegate for State Action at Sea

Word of S.E.M. Hamada madi, General Secretary of Indian ocean Commission

 

 

As we know, words carry symbols. Such is the case of Ocean Metiss. This project carried by the Reunion Region, the Prefecture and the University of Reunion summarizes the DNA of our island region, oceanic and resolutely Métis.

Through this beautiful name, we also read the will of Reunion to contribute actively to the development of the blue economy that each of the IOC Member States has made a priority.

It is therefore natural for the IOC to become a technical partner alongside Reunion Island in this project which aims at making a dynamic inventory of the factors impacting the economies and ecosystems of Indianoceania and to evaluate the potential for growth and social progress offered by our vast expanses of ocean. Of course, the preservation of the rich and fragile biodiversity of our islands will underlie all activities of the Ocean Metiss project.

IOC has developed recognized expertise in the sustainable management of marine and coastal environments. Over the past thirty years, our regional organization has accumulated knowledge and experience that can usefully feed Ocean Metiss.

The Indian Ocean Large Observatory project implemented with the support of the IRD will be complementary to Ocean Metiss in that it will eventually be able to spread information in the respect of national sovereignty. Similarly, the activities carried out in our Member States in the field of renewable energies, preservation of biodiversity, fisheries and the fight against the effects of climate change, carried out within the framework of projects financed by the European Union, French Development Agency, the French Global Environment Facility or the World Bank, will undoubtedly find a fruitful link with Ocean Metiss. It is in this sense that the IOC intends to technically support this project.

Partenaires

MOT DE LA DG MARE

 

L’Union Européenne (UE) fait l’effort vers la promotion de la planification spatiale maritime, non seulement concernant les eaux de ses États Membres, mais également au niveau global. Dans ce contexte, les Régions Ultrapériphériques jouent un rôle prépondérant comme avant-poste et l’avant-garde des politiques européennes dans le monde, dans ce cas celle de la politique maritime et de la gouvernance des océans.

 

Le projet Océan Métiss démontre que les synergies peuvent être créées entre les instruments de la politique interne, comme le Fonds Européen des Affaires Maritimes et de la Pêche (FEAMP), et aux initiatives visant à une meilleure intégration de ces Régions Ultrapériphériques dans leur environnement régional dans le cadre de la création d’une stratégie durable intégrée et de long terme pour le bassin de Sud-Ouest de l’Océan Indien.

 

La Commission Européenne soutient tous les efforts aux partenaires de ce projet pour répondre à ce défi. En tant que Directeur chargé des Affaires Maritimes, je me réjouis déjà de connaître les résultats de ce projet, prouvant que la coopération entre les différents États, membres ou non de l’UE, partageant une zone maritime très étendue est un facteur-clé de succès pour la mise en oeuvre d’une planification spatiale maritime dans le contexte d’un bassin maritime.

Bernhard Friess
DG MARE, Commission Européenne

MOT DE L’UNIVERSITÉ

 

L’économie bleue ouvre de nouvelles perspectives de développement dans l’océan Indien et en particulier pour l’île de La Réunion. Ces perspectives concernent, entre autres, les secteurs du tourisme, de la pêche et des énergies renouvelables. Avec la compétition grandissante avec d’autres grandes puissances (Etats-Unis, Chine et Inde) qui développent un intérêt pour cette région maritime, La Réunion a tout avantage à élaborer une « smart stratégie » de développement maritime.

 

Le projet OCEAN METISS a été pensé afin de relever ce défi stratégique de la croissance bleue dans une région ultrapériphérique de l’Europe, avec le soutien de l’Union européenne et en partenariat avec les pays voisins membres de la Commission de l’Océan Indien. Le consortium OCEAN METISS atteste d’une mobilisation à tous les niveaux stratégiques en associant les services de l’Etat, le Conseil Régional de La Réunion et l’Université de La Réunion.

 

OCEAN METISS vise le développement d’un plan stratégique marin ambitieux pour La Réunion et apportera sa contribution à une gestion transparente du littoral et de la mer reposant sur trois piliers: la connaissance au service de la société, la durabilité et l’équité. L’Université de La Réunion mobilise pour le projet OCEAN METISS une équipe interdisciplinaire de scientifiques et contribuera à la formation aux métiers de l’économie bleue.

 

Frédéric MIRANVILLE,

Président de l’Université de La Réunion

MOT DU PRÉSIDENT DE RÉGION

 

Terre française et européenne de l’océan Indien, le rayonnement de La Réunion passe incontestablement par l’affirmation de son ouverture maritime et la valorisation des activités de l’économie bleue, comme la pêche durable, l’écotourisme, la production d’énergies bleues renouvelables ou encore le transport maritime vert.

Un vaste champ d’actions se dessine devant nous. Mais nous devons aussi réfléchir ensemble aux actions et aux programmes qui pourront permettre à notre île et aux pays de la Commission de l’océan Indien de mieux profiter des formidables opportunités d’une gestion durable de leur océan.

Car la dynamique de notre île, appuyée et encouragée par l’Union européenne, s’inscrit désormais dans une stratégie globale et partagée : je tiens d’ailleurs particulièrement à saluer la mobilisation de l’ensemble de nos partenaires, l’Etat français, l’Université de La Réunion et la Commission de l’Océan Indien.

Les enjeux sont considérables, à la fois économiques, sociaux et environnementaux.

En plaçant l’économie bleue au cœur de sa stratégie de développement, en choisissant de l’organiser comme un véritable projet collectif, en misant sur l’intelligence collective, La Réunion a fait le choix de l’avenir et du développement durable.

 

Didier ROBERT

Président de la Région Réunion

MOT DU PRÉFET

 

Les enjeux du bassin maritime sud ouest de l’océan Indien sont multiples pour la France, que ce soit pour assurer notre souveraineté, le développement de nos intérêts économiques dans une zone économique exclusive de 2,8 millions de km² ou la protection de l’environnement. La mise en oeuvre d’une politique maritime intégrée, inscrite dans l’environnement régional de la COI, est aujourd’hui une nécessité. Le Conseil maritime ultramarin de bassin travaille à l’établissement d’une stratégie pour le développement durable du bassin, déclinaison locale de la stratégie nationale de la mer et du littoral. Les complémentarités sont évidentes avec le projet de planification spatiale marine Océan Metiss, dont la dimension partenariale est gage de succès. L’État et ses services sont pleinement mobilisés pour le succès de ce projet fédérateur et porteur d’avenir dans le domaine de l’économie bleue.

 

Amaury de Saint-Quentin,

Préfet de La Réunion,

Délégué du Gouvernement pour l’action de l’État en mer

MOT DU SG DE LA COI

 

Message de S.E.M. Hamada Madi, Secrétaire général de la Commission de l’océan Indien

 

Les mots, on le sait, sont porteurs de symboles. Tel est le cas d’Océan Metiss. Ce projet porté par la Région Réunion, la Préfecture et l’Université de La Réunion résume bien l’ADN de notre région insulaire, océanique et résolument métisse.

A travers ce beau nom, on lit aussi la volonté de La Réunion de contribuer activement au développement de l’économie bleue que chacun des Etats membres de la COI a élevé au rang de priorité.

C’est donc tout naturellement que la COI s’engage en tant que partenaire technique aux côtés de La Réunion dans ce projet qui vise à faire un état des lieux dynamique sur les facteurs impactant les économies et les écosystèmes de l’Indianocéanie et à évaluer le potentiel de croissance et de progrès social offert par nos vastes étendues océaniques. Bien entendu, la préservation de la biodiversité aussi riche que fragile de nos îles sous-tendra l’ensemble des activités du projet Océan Metiss.

La COI a développé une expertise reconnue en matière de gestion durable des milieux marins et côtiers. Au fil des projets pilotés depuis trente ans, notre organisation régionale a accumulé des savoirs et des expériences qui pourront utilement nourrir Océan Metiss.

Le projet de Grand observatoire de l’océan Indien mis en oeuvre avec l’appui de l’Institut de recherche pour le développement (IRD) sera d’ailleurs complémentaire d’Océan Metiss en ce sens qu’il pourra éventuellement drainer de l’information dans le respect des souverainetés nationales. De même, les activités conduites dans nos Etats membres en matière d’énergies renouvelables, de préservation de la biodiversité, de pêches ou encore de lutte contre les effets du changement climatique, conduites dans le cadre de projets financés par l’Union européenne, l’Agence française de développement, le Fonds français pour l’environnement mondial ouencore la Banque mondiale, trouveront sans aucun doute une articulation fructueuse avec Océan Metiss. C’est en tout cas dans ce sens que la COI entend soutenir techniquement ce projet.